Preface

February 5th, 2007

Blogs were the subject of a conversation in a local hostelry in Hastings just before I left to come to Cyprus. One outspoken individual was of the opinion that it was all a complete waste of time, and couldn’t see the point. I didn’t get too involved in the argument because I didn’t really care what he thought  –  he’s entitled to his opinion. I just pointed out the many different uses that blogs can be put to, and left it at that. It’s not my mission to convert people. That seems to be happening worldwide without any help from me!

In fact, weblogs have been around in one form or another since the early 90’s. But it’s only recently that it’s really taken off and become a huge media phenomenon. Two years ago there were about 4 million bloggers worldwide. Today, that figure is well in excess of 60 million. The most popular one apparently is Daily Kos, an American political blog which has an average of 463,000 visitors per day!

Just like the guy in the pub, I’ve often looked at other people’s personal blogs in the past and wondered what the attraction was. But having had occasion a few months ago to help sort out a display problem on someone else’s blog, I decided to learn a bit more about HTML language and scripts, and in the process I discovered that blogging is actually quite fun.

So I guess it’s about time I started a blog to keep everyone up to date with what’s happening in my life in Larnaca. I doubt it’ll attract 463,000 visitors per day though. To quote a line from a recent shampoo advert  –  ‘I’d be happy with just the one!’

 

©MPB 05/February/2007

Leave a Reply

