Do, Dough, Dozy, D’oh, Dough and D’oh

March 19th, 2007

 

 

Dear Mum,

It was St Patrick’s Day on Saturday. I love the way the Irish celebrate their Patron Saint’s Day, and I love to join in. Why don’t we ever do anything on St George’s Day? I bet a lot of English people don’t even know when it is!

WARNING! Do not under any circumstances click on this picture!Anyway, I figured there’d probably be a bit of a do at the Blarney Stone, a small Irish pub just off the sea-front which I often pop in to late at night for an hour or so on my way home.

I went to The Meeting Pub first where I had a very pleasant evening, as always, and made my way round to the Blarney Stone at about 11pm. It was absolutely heaving! You could hardly get through the door. I forced my way in and worked my way to the far end of the bar where I ordered a pint and exchanged a few pleasantries with a couple of people that I know vaguely.

When I paid for my drink I realised that I’d come out with insufficient funds to do the night justice, so a trip to the nearest cashpoint was going to be necessary. Which was when I realised that I’d come out without my cash-card! I’d arranged to meet a couple of people there, who were following on later from The Meeting Pub, so I figured I’d better nip home and procure said cash-card, get some more dough and pop back a bit later, by which time hopefully a few people might have left. A bit of fresh air wouldn’t go amiss anyway.

So I went back to my apartment to pick up my cash-card, sat down for five minutes, and woke up just after 5am!

D’oh!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

There’s a bakery in Larnaca that’s open 24 hours a day. Steve and I often used to stop there on our way back to Anglisedes at various times of late night or early morning. The array of cakes, pastries, doughnuts, cheescakes, biscuits, pies, etc. has to be seen to be believed. Fortunately, I don’t particularly have a sweet tooth, but even so… it’s all very, very tempting.

Surely just one chocolate pain won't hurt!There’s also a great little bakery not far from where I live, which should also be avoided at all costs if you care about your waistline. It’s tiny compared to the 24-hr one, but some of the goodies on offer in there are just as indescribably delicious. Their hot croissants and pains au chocolat are a rival to any that I’ve tasted in France.

Fortunately, I stopped caring too much about my waistline a long time ago when I realised that some wars just aren’t worth waging, especially when you know you have little chance of winning. Even so, I do manage to walk past that bakery most days without being tempted. No  –  that’s not true. I’m always tempted, but I usually manage to avoid giving in to it.

But I do go there a couple of times a week to buy some bread. For some reason, a running-out-of-bread-on-a-Sunday law seems to come into play every week. It’s always happening to me. Not that being breadless on a Sunday is any great hardship; it’s just that trying to eat butter and marmalade without a slice of toast underneath it is a somewhat disappointing experience! So I try to remember always to go to the bakery on a Saturday. But you wouldn’t believe how often I forget.

I walked past there yesterday morning (Sunday) on my way home after taking Cleopatra for her early morning gambol. The bakery was open! Apparently they bake every Sunday morning! It’s only taken me five months to find out!

D’oh!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Trivia

homerdoh.jpgApparently the word D’oh! has found its way into the Oxford English dictionary! As I don’t have one to hand, I can’t tell you whether or not there’s an obligatory exclamation mark accompanying it. I imagine there is.

…just as Westward Ho! in Devon is the only town in the UK to be spelled with an obligatory exclamation mark.

…but it’s not the only such town in the world. There’s a bizarrely named town called Saint-Louis-du-Ha! Ha! in Quebec.

Speaking of strange place names, I’ve often wondered how people who live in Cockermouth in the Lake Distrtict manage to keep a straight face!

 

©MPB 19/March/2007
Homer Simpson appears courtesy of Matt Groening
I stole the Pain Au Chocolat photo from Wikipedia
No idea where I found the stamp, the Blarney Stone photo, or the Irish virus

Leave a Reply

