Comme Ci, Comme Ça Update

May 11th, 2007
.

 

 

Dear Mum,

Cyprus failed to qualify last night for Saturday’s final. I was a bit surprised actually. They were odds-on in the betting market to qualify, and about fifth favourite to win the overall Contest. Commiserations to Evridiki.

I turned on the TV when I got in last night and inadvertently caught the end of the voting. It seems that the winning formula which I outlined no longer applies to this strangely popular Contest. Things have moved on. It would appear that anything goes now. As it says on Evridiki’s web site, ‘Once more it has been shown that the Eurovision Song Contest is unpredictable.‘ Not sour grapes  –  just stating a fact. To her credit, she was very magnanimous in defeat. Maybe I’ll write a song for her for next year!

Or perhaps we should have a Eurovision Thong Contest instead. That might be a bit more interesting!

And I’m sure Cyprus would stand a great chance of winning…

thong1.jpg  thong2.jpg  thong3.jpg

 

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

How d’ya feel about that one, George?

'Comme ci, commie ça, Pal!'

 

©MPB 11/May/2007
Thong photos courtesy of Microkitten

2 Responses to Comme Ci, Comme Ça Update

  1. Hey!
    It’s the first time I check a blog from your country, and I think it’s really great done. My congratulations.
    I’ll keep in touch to link you, okay?
    see you
    visit my blog to at http://boggito.blogspot.com

    bye bye
    fernando

  2. Priapus says:

    Hi Fernando

    Thanks very much for the comment. I’m so glad you enjoyed reading my blog.

    The only thing I’m slightly curious about is what exactly you’re basing your comment on, as you only looked at one page for a few seconds, pasted your comment, and then left exactly the same comment on another Cyprus blog one minute later!

    And I see you have a history of doing it:

    “It’s the first time I check a blog from Isle of Man… Cool. Congratulations. All I’ve read is so cool
    don’t forget to check my blog too in http://boggito.blogspot.com

    “fernando Olmos G. said…
    first time I see a blog from zambia. it’s cool
    check my blog at http://boggito.blogspot.com

    “fernando olmos from chile Says:
    it’s the first time i see a blog from windhoek namibia, and it’s amazing¡¡¡
    don’t forget checking my blog too in http://boggito.blogspot.com

    I came across numerous other examples of this.

    Quite clearly you’re just trying to drive traffic to your own blog. Nothing wrong with that. We all want more readers. But most of us use tags and blog directories for that purpose. What you’re doing amounts to spam. The only difference is that the only thing you’re trying to sell is yourself. Good for you! I like ambition.

    I think it’s just the lack of sincerity that I object to. If you’re going to use this method, then spend a bit more time on each site, and look at a few more posts. Then you’ll be believable.

    Good luck with university and your career as a journalist.

    ps that was a nice wheeze giving yourself an entry on Wikipedia under ‘Boggart’ with a link to your blog! Very inventive!

Leave a Reply

